Using robotics and artificial intelligence to bring sustainable improvements to the lives of millions
Utopia becomes reality

Science fiction fans have been familiar with exoskeletons since 1986 – the year James Cameron’s blockbuster Aliens hit cinemas. The final battle, in which Ripley – donned in a body-worn robot – sends the alien queen hurtling into space through the automatic airlock, remains unforgettable. Some thirty years later, such body-augmentation systems have a become reality – albeit with a different focus – and are known under the terms exoskeletons, power suits, or simply wearable robotics.

Exoskeletons, or external skeletons, are being primarily developed for three main application scenarios: In medicine, they are already commercially successful in rehabilitation and to assist walking. In disaster relief, they are getting ready to make first responders more effective when needing to transport heavy loads over long distances and uneven terrain or for rescuing injured people. Experts, however, currently identify the greatest potential for their use to be in areas where human labor cannot be meaningfully replaced by full automation or conventional robotic systems. This include work processes in logistics and intralogistics, industrial production, but also in other physically demanding work such as in construction or nursing.

“R&D is our DNA. When many years of interdisciplinary groundbreaking research materialize into a product that users and industry professionals alike describe as being a “gamechanger”, it’s no surprise that my team and I are simply itching to fire up the next stages of development.”
Peter Heiligensetzer German Bionic Founder & CTO
Dr. Peter Heiligensetzer
CTO German Bionic
The perfect augmentation of the human body can only be achieved on a valid basis of data.

To spark the next phase of the bionic revolution, exoskeletons must be fully connected to the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) and the Smart Factory. By collecting and evaluating sensory or motion data, not only can the actual support being provided to the exoskeleton user be quantified – which is a key factor for the commercial application of the systems. Moreover, the data and the associated interfaces are an essential tool for enabling effective networking between research institutions and manufacturers, with the aim of conducting interdisciplinary primary research. This interconnection is also laying the data foundation for machine learning and more advanced AI-based applications and capabilities. As a result, connected exoskeletons will continue to become more intelligent and adapt to the needs of their users – and not, as with purely mechanical tools or passive exoskeletons, the human to the machine.

"Our smart power suit augments the human body to effectively support us in physically demanding work, such as that performed in every day in logistics, production and healthcare environments as well as any other jobs where manual handling is involved. The pandemic, in particular, highlighted how important these types of "essential workers" are for our economy and for social cohesion. For us as a company, it is therefore of primary interest and concern to successively improve the working conditions and subsequently the health and safety of these people.“
Armin G. Schmidt
CEO German Bionic
Sustainable and responsible corporate governance through technological innovation

Sustainable business practices and a focus on ESG issues are playing an increasingly important role in the financial and strategic planning of institutional and private investors. Responsible corporate governance should, however, start with the employees. Putting the German Bionic system solution to use makes a clear statement about the value your company places on its staff. Empower your employees to be their best – both in and out of the workplace. Not only does this increase your company’s ESG score, it also increases its attractiveness as an employer in the context of an ageing workforce and an increasingly competitive labor market.

“The well-being of people is always at the core of our product development efforts. This is perfectly reflected in our AI application, the SMART SAFETY COMPANION, our intelligent, real-time early warning system for ergonomics. It effectively prevents poor postures and incorrect lifting techniques, warns against fatigue, and thus prevents errors and injuries caused by excessive strain.”
Norma Steller
Head of IoT

Wie wir mit Robotik und künstlicher Intelligenz das Leben vieler Menschen nachhaltig verbessern können
Utopie wird Realität

Science-Fiction-Fans kennen Exoskelette bereits seit 1986 – dem Jahr, in dem James Camerons Blockbuster Aliens in die Kinos kam. Unvergesslich bleibt der Endkampf, in dem die Protagonistin Ripley die Alien-Königin mithilfe eines am Körper getragenen Roboters durch die automatische Luftschleuse ins All befördert. Rund dreißig Jahre später sind solche Mensch-Maschine-Systeme unter den Begriffen Exoskelett oder ‚wearable robotics‘ zur Realität geworden – wenn auch mit anderem Fokus.

Exo- oder Außenskelette – so die gängige Definition – werden heute vor allem für drei Anwendungsszenarien entwickelt: In der Medizin sind sie bei der Rehabilitation und als Gehhilfen bereits kommerziell erfolgreich. Im Katastrophenschutz sollen sie zukünftig Erstretter leistungsfähiger machen, die im Einsatz schwere Lasten über lange Strecken und unebenes Gelände transportieren oder in Katastrophengebieten Verletzte bergen müssen. Das größte Potenzial für ihren Einsatz sehen Expertinnen und Experten aber derzeit in Bereichen, in denen menschliche Arbeit nicht sinnvoll durch Vollautomatisierung oder Robotik-Systeme ersetzbar ist. Hierzu zählen Arbeitsprozesse in Logistik und Intralogistik, der industriellen Produktion, aber auch körperlich schwere Arbeiten am Bau oder in der Pflege.

„R&D ist unsere DNA. Wenn sich langjährige und interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung in einem Produkt materialisiert, das von Nutzern und der Fachöffentlichkeit als „Gamechanger“ bezeichnet wird, dann wollen ich und mein Team sofort die nächste Entwicklungsstufe zünden.“
Peter Heiligensetzer German Bionic Gründer & CTO
Dr. Peter Heiligensetzer
CTO German Bionic
Die perfekte Augmentation des menschlichen Körpers kann nur auf einer validen Datengrundlage gelingen

Um die nächste Stufe der bionischen Revolution zünden zu können, müssen Exoskelette an das industrielle Internet der Dinge (IIoT) und damit an die Smart Factory angebunden sein. Durch die Erhebung und Auswertung von Sensorik oder Bewegungsdaten kann nicht nur die absolute Entlastung der Exoskelett-Nutzenden quantifiziert werden – Ein wichtiger Faktor für die kommerzielle Anwendung der Systeme. Daten und die dazugehörigen Schnittstellen sind auch wichtig, um Forschungseinrichtungen mit Herstellern zu vernetzen, mit dem Ziel interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung betreiben zu können. Darüber hinaus wird durch die Vernetzung der Exoskelette die Datengrundlage für maschinelles Lernen und KI-Fähigkeiten gelegt. Das bedeutet in der Folge, dass vernetzte Exoskelette immer intelligenter werden und sich an die Bedürfnisse ihrer Nutzer anpassen – und nicht, wie bei analogen Werkzeugen oder passiven Exoskeletten, der Mensch an die Maschine.

„Unser intelligenter Kraftanzug ist eine Augmentierung des menschlichen Körpers, der uns bei physisch anspruchsvollen Arbeiten, wie sie in der Logistik, in der Produktion, im Handwerk oder auch in der Pflege jeden Tag anfallen, unterstützt. Besonders während der Pandemie wurde uns deutlich vor Augen geführt, dass diese „systemrelevante“ Arbeit von zentraler Bedeutung für unsere Wirtschaft und den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt ist. Uns als Unternehmen ist es deshalb ein Anliegen, die Arbeitsbedingungen dieser Menschen sukzessive zu verbessern.“
Armin G. Schmidt
CEO German Bionic
Nachhaltige und verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung durch technologische Innovation

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften und ESG-Management spielen für die Anlagenplanung von institutionellen und privaten Anlegern eine immer größere Rolle. Verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung sollte aber schon bei den Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern beginnen. Der Einsatz der Systemlösung von German Bionic gibt ein klares Statement über den Wert ab, den Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern beimessen. Unterstützen Sie Ihre Mitarbeiter dabei, ihr Bestes zu geben – am Arbeitsplatz und nach Feierabend. Dies steigert nicht nur Ihren ESG-Score, sondern erhöht, in Anbetracht einer alternden Belegschaft und eines immer härter umkämpften Arbeitsmarktes, Ihre Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber.

„Im Fokus unserer Produktentwicklung steht immer das Wohl des Menschen. So beugt unsere KI-Anwendung SMART SAFETY COMPANION als intelligentes Echtzeit-Frühwarnsystem Fehlhaltungen und falschen Hebetechniken vor, warnt vor Übermüdung und verhindert dadurch überlastungsbedingte Fehler und Verletzungen.“
Norma Steller
CPO German Bionic